Los Alamos National Laboratory

Los Alamos National Laboratory

Delivering science and technology to protect our nation and promote world stability

Light to Energy Team

Our team expertise comprises photophysics of organic and nano-sized materials.

Contact Us  

Our team

Our team was established in 2013 as a part of Materials Synthesis & Integrated Devices (MPA-11) Group. The team comprises staff members, postdocs, and graduate and undergraduate students through active collaborations with academic institutions worldwide.


  • Photophysics, interfaces for energy conversions
  • Synthesis, characterizations, and fabrications of integrated devices based on emerging nano-sized materials with a focus on the roles of interfaces and fundamental photophysics behind the phenomena with the ultimate goal of energy applications
  • Organic materials such as Perovskite and low-dimensional nano-sized materials


Scientist Postdoctoral Researchers (Postdocs) Graduate Research Assistants (GRAs)
  • NA


  • Sergei Tretiak, Staff Scientist (MPA-CINT: Center for Integrated Nanotechnologies/T-1: Physics and Chemistry of Materials)
  • Jared J. Crochet, Staff Scientist (C-PCS: Physical Chem & Applied Spectroscopy)


  • Pulickel AjayanRice University
  • Jun Lou, Rice University
  • Hsing-Lin Wang, Southern University of Science and Technology, China
  • Manish Chhowalla, University of Cambridge, UK

Staff Scientists


  • Sehmus Ozden, Director's Postdoctoral Fellow, 2016-2018 (->LANL)
  • Claudia Narvaez Villarrubia, 2016-2018
  • Ulises Martinez, 2013-2016 (->LANL)
  • Akhilesh Singh, 2015-2016
  • Arun T. Mallajosyula, 2013-2015 (->IIT Guwahati, India)


  • Justin Hoffman, Northwestern University 2017
  • Chan Soe, Northwestern University 2016
  • Joseph Dumont, University of New Mexico 2014-2016
  • Mohit Tuteja, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign 2015-2016
  • Kunttal Keyshar, Rice University 2015-2016
  • Ismail Bilgin, Northeastern University 2014-2015
  • Kasun Fernando, University of Louisville 2015
  • Fangze Liu, Northeastern University 2015 (->LANL)
  • Jing Zhang, Rice University 2015
  • Raymond Fullon, Rutgers University 2015
  • Kendall Smith, Rice University, 2013-2014 (->Micron Technology)
  • Claudia Narvaez Villarrubia, University of New Mexico, 2013-2014 (->LANL)
  • Rajesh Kappera, Rutgers University, 2013-2014 (->Applied Materials)
  • Yen-Hao Lin, Rice University, 2013-2014 (->Texas A&M University)
  • Dustin Cummins, University of Louisville, 2013-2014 (->LANL)
  • Sidong Lei, Rice University, 2013
  • Daiki Watanabe, Tohoku University, Japan, 2013 (->Industry in Japan)
  • Charudatta C. Galande, Rice University, 2010-2013 (->Start-up company)


  • Keyla Tumas, University of New Mexico, 2015
  • Asli Z. Unal, University of California, San Diego, 2013-2014 (->Duke University)


  • Shaivi Bhatt, University of Waterloo, Canada, 2015
  • Wesley Jen, Rutgers University, 2014 (->Micron Technology)
  • Jennifer Gonzales, University of New Mexico, 2013
  • Ethan Cheng, Rutgers University, 2013



  • David Mascarenas, Staff Scientist (NSEC: National Security Education Center)


  • Mahendra Sunkara, University of Louisville
  • Swastik Kar, Northeastern University
  • Muhammad A. Alam, Purdue University


  • Sibel Ebru Yalcin, MPA-CINT (internal), 2012-2014 (->PNNL)


  • Hsinhan (Dave) Tsai, C-PCS (internal), 2012-2014 (->Rice University)