Los Alamos National Laboratory

Los Alamos National Laboratory

Delivering science and technology to protect our nation and promote world stability


Our team requires the participation of chemists, biologists, engineers, and materials experts alike.


The Biosensor team requires the participation of chemists, biologists, engineers, and materials experts alike. Such an integrated effort is possible because of extensive collaboration, both amongst scientists at the Los Alamos National Laboratory and with external organizations.

Internal Collaborators
External Collaborators
  • Steven Graves, UNM
  • Jim Keen, Univ Nebraska, Lincoln
  • Charles Farrar, NMC, UCSD


  • Clifton Barry III, Head of the tuberculosis research section, NIAI
  • Laura Via, Tuberculosis Research section, NIAI
  • Ray Waters, USDA
  • Masan National Hospital, Masan, South Korea
  • Dr. Ray Cho, Yonsei University, Seoul, South Korea

Breast Cancer

  • Jack Shively, Beckman Research institute, City of Hope, CA
  • Dr. John Yim, Beckman Research institute, City of Hope, CA


  • Dr. Suri Iyer, U. Cincinnati
  • Dr. Hong Cai, Mesa Biotech


  • Dr. Nile Hartman, nGiMat, Atlanta
  • Spectrum Thin Films LTD.
  • Basil I. Swanson, Scientist, B-10 and PI, (retired)
    Basil has a Ph. D in chemistry and over 35 years of research experience and greater than 350 research publications. He has served on numerous review and editorial boards. Basil's hobbies include books and skiing.
  • Harshini Mukundan, Scientist, Chemistry [Bio]
    Harshini has a Ph. D in biomedical sciences and over a decade of research experience and is the principal investigator on four different biosensor projects. Current interests include rapid detection of third world country diseases, especially tuberculosis, control of veterinary and agricultural pathogens and bio-threat reduction. In her spare time, Harshini loves to spend time with her family, cook, read and hike.
  • Jurgen G. Schmidt Scientist, Biosciences
    Jurgen has a Ph. D in chemistry and over two decades of experience in using synthetic chemistry and stable isotopes for biological applications. Jurgen is one of the key players in the laboratory's associations with the Centers for Disease control. He leads the carbohydrate ligand and siderophore chemistry efforts of the LANL biosensor team.
  • Aaron S. Anderson, Technologist, Chemistry
    Aaron has a masters degree in chemistry and is responsible for the synthetic chemistry effort of the LANL biosensor team. Aaron was primarily responsible for the development of the functional silane-based monolayers that are being used for waveguide-functionalization by the team. Aaron is involved in the chemistry efforts on four different projects of the sensor team. Aaron loves the outdoors, is an avid skier and loves to play music.
  • Srinivas Iyer, Scientist, Biosciences
    Srinivas is responsible for the mass spectroscopic characterization of the biomarkers of interest to the biosensor team. He heads the profile and marker development efforts. Srinivas loves sports and skiing and enjoys the great outdoors.
  • Jennifer S. Martinez, Scientist, Centers for Integrated nanotechnologies
    Jen is actively involved in waveguide-associated research and development and s a key collaborator for nanoparticle conjugation and biosensing. She has actively collaborated with the group on several projects and is currently working on pheromone-based sensing mechanisms.
  • Andrew Bradbury, Scientist, Biosciences
    Andrew leads a ligand development team, primarily using combinatorial phage display. Andrew is responsible for the development of specific ligands for some tuberculosis-antigens using combinatorial chemistry.
  • Bette Korber, Scientist, Theoretical Biology and Biophysics
    Bette is an accomplished scientist and EO Lawrence Awardee that has spear-headed HIV research in the world. She collaborates with the sensor team on a project involving HIV-TB co-infection and is the principal investigator for the effort
  • Andrew M. Dattelbaum, Scientist, Centers for Integrated Nanotechnology [read profile]
    Andrew is a key collaborator on the synthetic chemistry and nanoparticle efforts and was one of the major players, with Aaron, in the development of the silane-based surfaces
    Karen is one of the primary (lead) engineers involved in the development of the waveguide-based system and the hand held instrument.
  • Dr. Jennifer Foster-Harris, Scientist, Bioscience Division
    Jennifer is responsible for the biological characterization on the influenza project and heads the viral culture, characterization and efforts, that contribute to the detection effort of the sensor team.